2021 Award Recipients

This award was established in 2008 to recognize exceptional students who have a record of academic achievement, consistently demonstrate leadership, and make significant contributions to our community. 

Joel Wong, President's Award 2021

Joel Wong

Combined Bachelor of Science in Electrical Engineering and Bachelor of Science in Computer Science

Not only did Joel Wong show a commitment to inspiring youth, but through his leadership, he improved the quality of life for people in Peru, among other places. His work has been exemplary.

Through Light Up the World UCalgary, Wong oversaw a solar energy project in rural Peru that brought power to a community centre in the village of Hanchipacha. This organization continues to advocate for others to use their technical skills to improve the world, and a second solar project is planned.

As part of Tikkun Olam Makers, a global humanitarian project, for which Wong served as president of the UCalgary chapter, he helped organize an event that built devices to solve challenges for 15 people living with disabilities.

Through the UCalgary Engineers Without Borders Youth Venture, Wong and his team worked with more than 900 students to raise awareness about how the STEM fields and business skills can create positive change. He also inspired young minds in his role as a content development volunteer with Schulich Ignite, an organization that teaches software development to high schoolers.

Wong has also been a committee member on the Schulich School of Engineering Scholarship Committee, co-president of the Schulich Scholars Association, and chair of the UCalgary Computer, Robotics, and Automation Chapter in the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers. Additionally, he has held various other volunteer roles.

After graduating, Wong will be employed by Amazon Web Services as a software developer, where he will be developing cloud and distributed computing products.

Many congratulations to both President’s award winners for their outstanding academic achievement and their commitment to the lives of others.

Past award recipients

2021 | 20202019 | 2018 | 2017 | 2016
2015 | 2014 | 2013