2021 Award Recipients

This award was established in 2008 to recognize exceptional students who have a record of academic achievement, consistently demonstrate leadership, and make significant contributions to our community. 

Amanda Cha

Laura Wan

Amanda Cha

Bachelor of Arts (Philosophy)
Bachelor of Science (Psychology)

As well as achieving academic excellence in two majors, Amanda Cha has been leading positive change in her student community since arriving at UCalgary.

In her first year, Amanda restored the UCalgary Philosophy Club, recruiting members, gaining departmental support and hosting biweekly discussions. She served as the club’s president throughout her degree. Other leadership roles she later took on include Undergraduate Representative on the Department of Philosophy’s Climate and Diversity Committee and Chief Returning Officer (CRO) for the Students’ Union, where she worked to ensure that students’ voices were fairly represented in the democratic process despite complications brought on by the pandemic.

Amanda has also made significant contributions to national organizations. She served as the Undergraduate Representative for the Canadian Bioethics Society’s Anti-Oppression and Anti-Racism Working Group, developing an action plan to help the society integrate diversity issues and anti-oppression practices into their initiatives. With Amnesty Canada, she helped plan a week-long workshop to educate youth across Canada about human rights violations and advocacy around the globe. As UCalgary’s Undergraduate Representative for the Minorities and Philosophy Organization, she helped identify and fight against factors preventing individuals from marginalized groups from engaging in academic philosophy.

Throughout her degree, Amanda made time to personally support other students. As a Scholars Academy Student Mentor, she met regularly with first-year students to help them navigate toward their academic and career goals. She also served as a Peer Assisted Study Session (PASS) program leader and mentor.

Past award recipients

2022 | 2021 | 20202019 | 2018
2017 | 2016 | 2015 | 2014 | 2013