2019 Award Recipients

As this academic year comes to an end, it is our pleasure to announce the recipients of The President’s Award for Excellence in Student Leadership for 2019. This award was established in 2008 to recognize exceptional students who have a record of academic achievement, consistently demonstrate leadership, and make significant contributions to our community. 

Kristen Barton, President's Award Recipient 2019

Kristen Barton: Doctor of Philosophy, Medical Sciences and Doctor of Medicine

Kristen Barton is an award-winning medical student with a passion for helping others through both her field of study and her leadership within the student community. Her research focuses on osteoarthritis and helping patients manage chronic pain and prevent future injuries. She is a rising star in her field and has presented her work at over 60 international and national conferences.


Barton has been part of leadership teams for Dinos women’s soccer, the Graduate Students’ Association, the Medical Sciences Graduate Students’ Association, the Council of Foothills Departmental Graduate Association, and Leadership in Medicine (LiM). Recognized by her peers for her exceptional leadership skills, she was selected as vice-president, internal for the Clinician Investigator Trainee Association of Canada; in this position, she collaborated on projects with faculty members across Canada and worked with national policy-makers to advocate for funding opportunities for students. She was also selected as the Class of 2019 representative for the Undergraduate Medical Education Student Academic Review Committee. Amidst her busy academic schedule, Barton has given of her time to mentor students through LiM, the Graduate Leaders Circle, and the McCaig Institute for Bone and Joint Health.

Past award recipients

20202019 | 2018 | 2017 | 2016 | 2015 
2014 | 2013