2018 Award Recipients

As this academic year comes to an end, it is our pleasure to announce the recipients of The President’s Award for Excellence in Student Leadership. This award was established in 2008 to recognize exceptional students who have a record of academic achievement, consistently demonstrate leadership, and make significant contributions to our community.

President's Award Recipient 2018, Samuel Geisterfer

Samuel Geisterfer, Bachelor of Arts in Economics (with Distinction) and Bachelor of Science (First Class Honours) in Natural Sciences

Samuel Geisterfer’s dedicated leadership has inspired many other students to get involved on campus and in their community. During his time as president of the UCalgary Rotaract club, membership grew more than tenfold and, during the federal election, he was recognized as the most outstanding volunteer during the Get Out The Vote campaign on campus, which contacted over 8,300 student voters.


Geisterfer has also worked to build engagement on campus through a variety of other leadership roles including President of the Students of the Arts and Science Honours Academy, Natural Science Representative for the Science Students' Society, Vice-President and Communications Director of the Outdoor Adventurers club, a Peer Assisted Study Sessions Leader, and VP Academic for the Consent Awareness & Sexual Education Club. Beyond campus, Geisterfer co-organized a Sombrilla International Development Society trip to Peru to build a community centre alongside members of the Indigenous community of Yurac Yacu.

Past award recipients

2021 | 20202019 | 2018 | 2017 | 2016
2015 | 2014 | 2013