2018 Award Recipients

As this academic year comes to an end, it is our pleasure to announce the recipients of The President’s Award for Excellence in Student Leadership. This award was established in 2008 to recognize exceptional students who have a record of academic achievement, consistently demonstrate leadership, and make significant contributions to our community.

Kyle Mayr, President's Award Recipient 2018

Kyle Mayr, Master of Science in Neuroscience

Kyle Mayr has made significant contributions in his field, publishing in prestigious journals such as Cell and Nature Protocols, and has been intricately involved with the university community, holding various leadership roles to enrich the student experience. During the two years he was on the Hotchkiss Brain Institute (HBI) Education Committee, he spearheaded the development of a mentorship program for incoming graduate students while personally mentoring high school, undergraduate, and graduate students.


His additional positions include Graduate Student Association representative, outreach chair, and vice-president/treasurer of the HBI Trainee Organization. In these capacities, he championed outreach and science communication, making neuroscience accessible to the general public. Mayr has organized events at Telus Spark and Ronald McDonald House, expanded the Calgary Brain Bee to encompass all of southern Alberta, and worked closely with the Branch Out Neurological Foundation to promote health and science in the broader community.

Past award recipients

2022 | 2021 | 20202019 | 2018
2017 | 2016 | 2015 | 2014 | 2013