2018 Award Recipients

As this academic year comes to an end, it is our pleasure to announce the recipients of The President’s Award for Excellence in Student Leadership. This award was established in 2008 to recognize exceptional students who have a record of academic achievement, consistently demonstrate leadership, and make significant contributions to our community.

Gabrielle Wagner, President's Award Recipient 2018

Gabrielle Wagner, Bachelor of Science in Biological Sciences (with Distinction)

With a passion for providing support to marginalized populations, Gabrielle Wagner has helped many individuals access services to address the barriers they face. As a co-coordinator of the SU Campus Food Bank, she organized emergency food relief for over 550 individuals and a nutritious breakfast for over 2,000 students. Wagner served as a project leader for the ucalgarycares Homelessness at Home service-learning program, which focused on understanding the unique experiences of individuals facing homelessness, and as a director on the national leadership team of Outrun the Stigma, a student-led initiative to increase mental health awareness on campus. She also helped found and co-directed the Students Against Domestic Abuse Association. As a student in the Department of Clinical Neuroscience and Department of Pediatrics, Cumming School of Medicine, Gabrielle has presented her research at conferences and published several journal articles.

Past award recipients

2022 | 2021 | 20202019 | 2018
2017 | 2016 | 2015 | 2014 | 2013