2015 Award Recipients

Congratulations to the 2015 recipients of the President’s Award for Excellence in Student Leadership.

Sarah Victoria Akierman, President's Award Recipient 2015

Sarah Victoria Akierman, Master of Science in Biological Sciences (Host-Pathogen Interactions)

Sarah is a community builder. This was proven during her two years as president of the Graduate Students’ Association, where she developed an active and engaged membership while consistently working and advocating to improve services for graduate students. As a long-time volunteer for organizations such Oxfam Canada and Pride Calgary, Sarah is also a founding board member of the Alberta Graduate Provincial Advocacy. In the aftermath of the Flood of 2013, Sarah’s compassion earned her an Alberta Flood Hero Award after she was compelled to take a lead role in several initiatives to identify and aid students at risk.

Past award recipients

20202019 | 2018 | 2017 | 2016 | 2015 
2014 | 2013