2015 Award Recipients

Congratulations to the 2015 recipients of the President’s Award for Excellence in Student Leadership.

Luis Carlos Welbanks Camarena, President's Award Recipient 2015

Luis Carlos Welbanks Camarena, Bachelor of Science (Honours) First Class (Astrophysics/Physics)

Since coming to Canada from Mexico to attend the University of Calgary, Luis has demonstrated tremendous leadership skills and academic merit. He revived the Society of Physics Students and as its president led the chapter to win two medals in international physics competitions. Luis is the founder and president of the Latin American Students’ Association and has gone above-and-beyond in his role as a senior community advisor in residence. His volunteerism demonstrates a commitment to community such as the finance chair for the Relay for Life, a PASS Leader, an academic tutor and a mentor for international students. In addition to all his above-noted accomplishments, he is the first student to complete both an Honours Physics and Honours Astrophysics degree in four years.

Past award recipients

20202019 | 2018 | 2017 | 2016 | 2015 
2014 | 2013