2014 Award Recipients

Meet previous award recipients and find out how each of these exceptional individuals contributed to our community through excellent academic achievement and outstanding extracurricular contributions.

Elizabeth Rabago, President's Award Recipient 2014

Elizabeth Romo Rábago, Master of Science

Elizabeth has been a major contributor to the Sustainable Energy Development (SEDV) program at the university. Speaking at an Eco Village of Hope fundraiser, Elizabeth convinced hundreds of people to donate to a project to build a biodigester in a leprosy colony in China. Elizabeth took every step to ensure the project’s success, which meant coordinating and working side-by-side with knowledgeable academics, energetic volunteers, and capable institutions in Canada, China, and the United States. The biodigester is now a reality for a remote village in China—made possible by Elizabeth’s passion and effort for her SEDV research project.


In the community, Elizabeth continues to pursue her passion for environmental education and sustainable development. She developed a social enterprise to create environmental education workshops and manufacture environmentally friendly handcrafted goods. She helped start the SEDV program’s community garden, and she contributes to environmental workshops and summer camps for Nature’s Ride.


Elizabeth is a true leader. She knows how to initiate action, but she also lets others shine. She listens and then acts. She teaches others in creative and entertaining ways. She perseveres beyond challenges and puts her values into practice.

Past award recipients

20202019 | 2018 | 2017 | 2016 | 2015 
2014 | 2013