Overview Gailer Research Group




Jürgen Gailer (Professor)


Brief CV

Jürgen Gailer was born in Geislingen and der Steige/Germany in 1967 and obtained his PhD in Analytical Chemistry from the University of Graz/Austria in 1997. After being awarded an Erwin Schroedinger PDF Fellowship he moved to the Department of Molecular and Cellular Biology of the University of Arizona (Tucson/United States) and subsequently transferred to the Department of Nutritional Sciences as a research associate. In 2001 he was awarded an Alexander von Humboldt Scholarship and embarked on another PDF at the GSF National Research Center for Environment and Health in Munich/Germany. In 2002 he became the Team Leader in Biopharmaceutical Production at Boehringer Ingelheim Austria/Vienna. He joined the University of Calgary in 2004 where he was co-appointed in the Department of Chemistry and the BSc Environmental Science Program. 


Graduate Students

Maryam Doroudian

Maryam Doroudian (PhD student)


Negar Pourzadi

Negar Pourzadi (MSc student)


Former Students

Graduate Students and Current Affiliation

  • Astha Gautam (MSc), recently graduated
  • Tristen Bridle (MSc), Summit Nanotech (R&D Chemist)
  • Kerri Miller (PDF), PDF M. Wieser, Department of Physics and Astronomy, University of Calgary
  • Sophia Sarpong-Kumankomah (PhD), Corteva Agriscience Inc. Indianapolis, Indiana, United States
  • Mathew A. Gibson (MSc), unknown
  • Melani Sooriyaarachchi (PhD), Southern Alberta Institute of Technology, Calgary
  • Thomas T. Morris (MSc), unknown
  • Elham Zeini Jahromi (PhD) Alberta Centre of Toxicology, Foothills Hospital, Calgary
  • Katie L. Pei (MSc), unknown
  • Shawn A. Manley (MSc)
  • Andrew J. Percy (MSc), Senior Applications Chemist, Mass Spectrometry Cambridge Isotope Laboratories, Inc., MA, United States

Undergraduate Students (2015 to present)

Amanda Gomez

Emily Chang

Alexander Hill

Roy Tesorero

Senya Rennie

Travis K. Sander

Tristen Bridle

Ryan Huang

Astha Gautam

Matthew Biscope

Andrew R. Bellavie

Ashley E. North

Peter Sagmeister

Bruno dos Santos Lima

Kyle McDade