Jan. 13, 2021

Do you know an inspiring student? Make sure they're recognized

Nominations now open for President’s Award for Excellence in Student Leadership
2020 President's Award Winners
President's Award Winners

UCalgary is home to many brilliant students who, during their studies, make major contributions to their university and the surrounding community. Whether through innovative research, humanitarian projects, student leadership, volunteering or all of the above, these students are making a positive difference in their world.

The President’s Award for Excellence in Student Leadership formally recognizes these students for their achievements and dedication to helping others. Nominations, which opened Jan. 1, can be made by faculty, staff or students.

  • Pictured above: 2020 President's Award winners, from left: Catharine Bowman, Ruth Legese, Hannah Rahim, Haley Vecchiarelli and Linhui Yu.

“The students considered for this award push themselves to meet a high academic standard, yet they also give of their time to improve the lives of others,” says Dr. Susan Barker, vice-provost (student experience), who leads the selection committee for the award. “They could focus solely on their own success, but they don’t. Each year, I am so encouraged to learn about these amazing students and their inspiring stories.”

Up to five students are honoured with this prestigious award each year. In June 2020, Health Sciences students Catharine Bowman, Ruth Legese and Hannah Rahim – and PhD students Haley Vecchiarelli and Linhui Yu – received the award. You can read all about these award winners, as well as those from past years, by visiting our award winners page. 

The deadline for online nominations, including the nominator and nominee forms, as well as supporting letters, is March 1. Nominations will be accepted for students who graduate in either June or November 2021. You must have a student’s consent before you nominate them. Nominated students also need to complete the nominee form before the March 1 deadline.

Visit the President’s Award website to learn more about how you can nominate a student.