Office of Advancement

Connecting with our communities

Our role is to understand what our communities want and need from their university, and to invite them to be a part of all that we have to offer. We do this through the stories we tell, by promoting life-changing research breakthroughs we make, through the events we create and the experiences we cultivate, and by providing opportunities for people to make gifts through the university that have an impact on what's meaningful to them.

Our departments

Office of the Vice-President

Key Contacts: 

Dr. James Allan
Vice-President (Advancement)
james.allan2@ucalgary.ca



Shauna Smalldon
Director of Operations
403.210.8628
smalldos@ucalgary.ca


Advancement Services

This team supports and guides fundraising, alumni engagement and communications efforts across UCalgary through gifts acceptance and management, alumni and donor research and prospect services, impact and financial reporting and data management. 

Key Contacts:

Alyson Kenward
Associate Vice-President, Advancement Services
403.220.8254
alyson.kenward1@ucalgary.ca


Alumni Engagement

This team works closely with the University of Calgary Alumni Association to engage more than 185,000 graduates around the world. Our aim is to strengthen the relationships alumni have with each other and with the university while fostering their individual and professional growth. We offer exclusive events and programs, career development resources and opportunities to align personal goals with university priorities through volunteer experiences and annual giving.

Key Contacts: 

Colleen Bangs
Director, Alumni Programs and Partnerships
403.220.5301
csbangs@ucalgary.ca



Angela Brown
Director, Alumni Programs and Services
angela.brown1@ucalgary.ca

 


Community Engagement

This team develops partnerships with key stakeholders, such as the Calgary Stampede and Calgary Economic Development, to engage with and provide value to our broader community. We also host events that connect our alumni, donors and other community members with the latest and greatest in education and research at UCalgary.

Key Contacts: 

DJ Kelly
Manager, Community Engagement
403-220-3152
dj.kelly@ucalgary.ca


Development

This team matches donors’ passions with the needs of the university to spark positive change on campus, in the community and around the world.

Key Contacts: 

Andrea Morris
Associate Vice-President and Chief Development Officer
403.220.2972
andrea.morris@ucalgary.ca

Vanessa Ferreira
Director, Principal Gifts
403.836.9992
vanessa.ferreira@ucalgary.ca

Salman Jivani
Director of Development, Annual Giving
403.220.8142
sjivani@ucalgary.ca



Catherine Scheers
Interim Executive Director, Faculty Development
catherine.scheers@ucalgary.ca

Julien Sicard
Interim Executive Director, Institutional Development
403.210.9174 
julien.sicard@ucalgary.ca

Janelle Wakaruk
Executive Director of Development, Cumming School of Medicine
403.220.6161
jwakaruk@ucalgary.ca


Strategic Communications

This team builds UCalgary's brand and reputation and promotes UCalgary's value proposition among its key audiences. Our areas of focus include media relations, content, publications, marketing and communications campaigns, digital experience and brand and creative strategy.

Key Contacts:

Corey Hogan
Senior Associate Vice-President, Communications
403.220.7852
corey.hogan@ucalgary.ca



Dean Parthenis
Director, Media and Issues Management
403.210.6815
dparthen@ucalgary.ca