Dec. 16, 2016

Public members appointed to University of Calgary Board of Governors

Government of Alberta appoints five board members with diverse experience
University of Calgary Board of Governors members, clockwise, from top left: Jill Wyatt, Firoz Talakshi, Beverley Foy, Kris Frederickson, and Steve Allan.

From top left: Jill Wyatt, Firoz Talakshi, Beverley Foy, Kris Frederickson, and Steve Allan.

The Government of Alberta has appointed three new public members — and reappointed two returning members — to the University of Calgary’s Board of Governors, effective Dec. 13, 2016. 

The three new members are: 

Beverley Foy is a Fellow of the Institute of Chartered Professional Accountants of Alberta. Prior to her retirement, she was a partner and member of the leadership team of Collins Barrow Calgary LLP, where she provided audit, accounting and taxation services to private companies and their shareholders, and audit services to not-for-profit organizations. Beverley brings to this position a long history of volunteer work as a board and committee member with such organizations as Calgary Opera, YWCA and YMCA of Calgary. Her recent board positions include the Calgary Airport Authority, Calgary Foundation, and Canada Council for the Arts. She holds a Bachelor of Arts degree in French from the University of Montana.   

Kris Frederickson is a Métis environmental engineer and environmental lead with MEG Energy. He has worked with the Canadian Environmental Assessment Agency, facilitating environmental assessments and consultation with Indigenous communities for major projects in Manitoba and Saskatchewan. Kris is an experienced board member with the Winnipeg Regional Health Authority, the University of Manitoba, and the Métis Centre Governing Committee of the National Aboriginal Health Organization. He has been awarded an Action Canada Fellowship and a National Aboriginal Achievement Award, and holds a Master’s degree in Biosystems Engineering from the University of Manitoba. 

Jill Wyatt is a former educator and high school principal, CEO of the YWCA of Calgary and VP, Community Investments and Collaborations with United Way of Calgary and Area. She served two terms as a senator of the University of Calgary. Jill’s passion for community-building has been a driving force in changing social conditions and creating opportunities for individuals, families and communities. Jill holds a Diploma in Education from the University of Calgary, a Bachelor of Arts from York University, and a Master’s degree in French from the University of Toronto. 

The two reappointed members are: 

Steve Allan has been a governor of the University of Calgary since 2013. He is a Fellow of the Chartered Professional Accountants of Alberta, having practised in the areas of corporate restructuring, insolvency and forensic accounting for some of Alberta’s most high-profile and complex files. He is chair of Calgary Economic Development, the Calgary Stampede Foundation and several other local organizations, and has won numerous awards for his volunteer work. He holds a Bachelor of Commerce degree from the University of Calgary. 

Firoz Talakshi has been a Governor of the University of Calgary since 2013. Firoz is one of KPMG Canada’s leading international tax practitioners. Based in Calgary, he specializes in international tax issues. He is a Fellow of the Institute of Chartered Accountants and brings many years of community volunteer experience. 

“I'm pleased to make these appointments for the University of Calgary Board of Governors. Each of them brings a wealth of experience and diverse perspective that will ensure continued strong leadership and success for the university,” said Marlin Schmidt, minister of Advanced Education. 

“These new and returning members join a dedicated group of community leaders on the Board of Governors,” said Gord Ritchie, Board Chair. “Their willingness to volunteer their time and expertise is truly appreciated and will help lead the university towards achieving our ambitious Eyes High goals.” 

Members of the University of Calgary’s Board of Governors include public members, the president, chair, chancellor, as well as members nominated by the Faculty Association, General Faculties Council, AUPE, Students’ Union, Graduate Students’ Association, the Alumni Association and Senate. 

Visit the Board of Governors website to learn more about the Board’s role, mandate, membership and bylaws.