Keith Yeates, PhD, RPsych, ABPP-CN

Keith Owen Yeates

Keith Owen Yeates, PhD, RPsych, ABPP-CN, is the Ronald and Irene Ward Chair in Pediatric Brain Injury, Professor and Head of the Department of Psychology, and Adjunct Professor of Pediatrics and Clinical Neurosciences at the University of Calgary, in Alberta, Canada. He leads the University’s Integrated Concussion Research Program. He has a 30 year track record of grant funding from NIH, CIHR, and other external agencies for his research, which focuses on the outcomes of childhood brain disorders, and has published over 250 peer-reviewed journal articles, 42 book chapters, and 5 edited or co-authored books. According to SCOPUS, he is the most highly published investigator of pediatric TBI in the world over the last 10 years.

Dr. Yeates is actively involved in knowledge translation efforts. He was co-lead author of the report of the Centers for Disease Control (CDC) Expert Panel on Acute Diagnosis and Management of Mild Traumatic Brain Injury among Children and Adolescents, an invited member of NINDS Common Data Elements workgroups focusing on outcomes of pediatric TBI and sports-related concussion, an invited participant in the Workshop on Sports-Related Youth Concussions hosted by the US Institute of Medicine/National Research Council, and an invited expert panel observer at the 5th International Consensus Conference on Concussion in Sport in Berlin. 

Dr. Yeates has received a number of honors and awards: Fellow of the American Psychological Association (APA) and National Academy of Neuropsychology; the Arthur Benton Award from the International Neuropsychological Society; Visiting Fellow of the Australian Psychological Society; Canadian Association of Child Neurology John Tibbles Lecturer; Charles Matthew Lecturer at the University of Wisconsin School of Medicine and Public Health; Barbara J. Anderson Lecturer at the Baylor College of Medicine; and Jane Holmes Bernstein Lecturer at the Harvard Medical School. 

Dr. Yeates was previously Associate Editor of the Journal of the International Neuropsychological Society, and is the incoming Editor of Neuropsychology. He has served as President of the Society of Clinical Neuropsychology of the APA, the Association of Postdoctoral Programs in Clinical Neuropsychology, and the International Neuropsychological Society.