University of Calgary
UofC Navigation

Apply for the Writer-in-Residence Position

Submitted by ccummin on Wed, 08/21/2013 - 1:40pm

Applications for the position of Canadian Writer-in-Residence 2016-2017 are now closed. All applications received or postmarked by January 31, 2015 will be considered. 

The Calgary Distinguished Writers Program (CDWP) encourages submissions from promising Canadian writers for the position of Canadian Writer-in-Residence, a ten-month residency at the University of Calgary’s Faculty of Arts from September 1, 2016 to June 30, 2017. This is a unique opportunity for early to mid-career Canadian writers to devote their time to writing and to advancing their writing careers. Applications for the position are encouraged from writers from diverse genres—including literary fiction or non-fiction, poetry, scriptwriting, and playwriting. Candidates will have one to four published and/or performed works to their credit; community engagement experience, such as teaching or mentoring writers; and are expected to propose a project or projects that they will undertake during their term as Canadian Writer-in-Residence. They will preferably, but not necessarily, hold a university degree.

The residency is a full-time term position, with half of the Canadian Writer-in-Residence’s time reserved for their own writing projects, and half comprising public outreach involving manuscript consultations, public presentations, and other related duties. While the Canadian Writer-in Residence will be invited to speak to university classes and to the general public, this is not a teaching position. This high profile position has continued interaction with the external community and impact on the reputation of the CDWP and university.

The CDWP offers a highly competitive package to successful applicants, an office on the University of Calgary campus, administrative support, and a two-week residency at The Banff Centre's Leighton Artists' Colony. The program also pays for one-way travel from the Writer-in-Residence’s home city to Calgary at the beginning of the residency, and return travel from the Writer-in-Residence’s home to Calgary and back for the second Hello/Goodbye reading, if appropriate. Past Canadian Writers-in Residence include Sara Tilley, Deborah Willis, Jeramy Dodds, Oana Avasilichioaei, Marcello Di Cintio, Charlotte Gill, Sina Queyras, Jaspreet Singh, Melanie Little, Natalee Caple, Robert Finley, Suzette Mayr, Eden Robinson, Laura Robinson, Richard Sanger, Peter Oliva, Larissa Lai, Rosemary Nixon, Richard Harrison, Ven Begamudré, and Roberta Rees. The 2014-15 Canadian Writer-in-Residence is Ian Williams.

To apply for this position, please fill out the form on the bottom of this page by Monday, January 26, 2015. The CDWP Creative Writing Program Specialist will then give you instructions on how to upload your following documents:

  1. a statement of interest;
  2. a literary resume;
  3. a single-page description of projects to be undertaken during the residency; and
  4. three letters of reference (preferably not from agents or publishers).

After you have uploaded your documents, please mail physical copies of your 1-4 published and/or produced books, plays, or screenplays to:

Caitlynn Cummings
Creative Writing Program Specialist
University of Calgary
SS 1306, 2500 University Drive NW
Calgary AB  T2N 1N4

If you would like these materials returned to you, please also include a self-addressed stamped envelope with sufficient postage.

References may be included with your online submission or sent separately by your referees by email to The subject line should be formatted in the following way: W-i-R 2016-2017: Applicant Last Name, Applicant First Name.

The submission deadline for this position is January 31, 2015. Uploaded documents, reference letters, and physical books must all be received or postmarked by this date. 

Further information can be obtained by contacting Caitlynn Cummings at 403.220.8177 or Decisions will be communicated in late June or early July, 2015.

The Calgary Distinguished Writers Program strives to advance the careers of Canadian writers by providing them with time to write through a ten-month residency program. The University of Calgary respects, appreciates, and encourages diversity.

Please enter your first name.
Please enter your last name.
Please list any and all places through which you heard about this call. Examples include the Writers' Guild of Alberta e-newsletter,, word of mouth from previous Writer-in-Residence Deborah Willis, etc.
Have you applied for this position in previous years?
Would you like to sign up to the CDWP e-mailing list to hear about events and news?