University of Calgary
UofC Navigation

Streams

 

 The conference papers and panels will focus on the following streams:

Culture, Ethics & Society

This stream will include papers and panels in relation to topics such as lawyering for and by indigenous peoples, legal ethics in the developing world, cultural competence, socio-economic barriers to legal services, legal ethics and civil law, cultural and social issues related to judging and the judiciary, and ethical challenges for professional sub-groups such as large law firms, immigration law, rural, criminal defence or family law practitioners.

For more information contact:

1.  Richard Devlin 
     richard.devlin@dal.ca

2.  John Flood 
     j.a.flood@westminster.ac.uk

 

Empirical Approaches to Legal Ethics

This stream will include papers and panels featuring an empirical approach to questions concerning the structure and demographics of the legal profession, law firms, lawyering, judging and the judiciary.

For more information contact:

1.  Ronit Dinovitzer 
     ronit.dinovitzer@utoronto.ca

 2.  Mitt Regan
     regan@law.georgetown.edu

 3.  Hilary Sommerlad 
     haks1@leicester.ac.uk

 

Regulation of the Profession(s) / Ethics and Education

This stream will include papers and panels related to self-regulation, shifting regulatory models, effective methods of regulating lawyers, regulation by lawyers, or other legal service providers, regulatory theory, continuing legal education, ethics teaching and regulation or accreditation of law schools.

For more information contact:

1.  John Law 
     jlaw@law.ualberta.ca

2.  Bruce Green 
     BGREEN@law.fordham.edu

3.  Christine Parker 
     Christine.Parker@monash.edu

 

Philosophy & Legal Ethics

 This stream will include papers and panels relating to jurisprudence, legal theory and their intersection with questions in legal and judicial ethics.

For more information contact:

1.  Alice Woolley
     awoolley@ucalgary.ca

2.  Tim Dare
      t.dare@auckland.ac.nz

3.  Brad Wendel
     Bradley-wendel@lawschool.cornell.edu