University of Calgary

U Make a Difference

May 5, 2009

Making a difference

Anne Mckeough (left) and her nominator Rahat Naqvi. Mckeough is one of the 2009 U Make A Difference Award recipients. / Photo: Ken Bendiktsen
Anne Mckeough (left) and her nominator Rahat Naqvi. Mckeough is one of the 2009 U Make A Difference Award recipients. / Photo: Ken Bendiktsen
Fourteen U of C employees, nominated by their peers, will receive ‘U Make a Difference’ awards at the annual Recognition Awards Reception next week.

The program is in its third successful year, honouring  recipients who are noted by their colleagues as consistently “going above and beyond”; promoting and supporting a culture of recognition at the U of C.

“We started this recognition program in the fall of 2006 with the understanding that each of us wants and needs to be recognized for contributions made,” says Sandy Repic, associate vice-president of Human Resources. “The ‘U Make A Difference’ award is one of the ways university staff can recognize each other throughout the year.”

This year, Anne Mckeough, professor in the Division of Applied Psychology, Faculty of Education, will be receiving a UMake award for her mentoring, leadership and contribution to the student experience.

“It’s a real honour,” says Mckeough. “I think we should be developing a culture of honouring at the university. The main thing for me is that people were kind enough and took the time to nominate me.”

Nominations for UMake awards occur each year in March with individual recommendation requiring  a nominator and two supporting references, which then go before the selection committee. Nominees must demonstrate excellence in multiple categories including: leadership, wellness, customer service/positive work environment, recognition, student experience, learning environment, partnership/teamwork, and change management.

Rahat Naqvi nominated Mckeough for the award and has known her for over four years, after meeting at a faculty gathering. Despite being in different divisions in education, where they normally would not have collaborated often, Mckeough took an interest in Naqvi and her work, becoming a mentor, and playing an important role in Naqvi’s research.

“I am truly amazed at how she has found it in her heart to help me on a number of levels,” says Naqvi, assistant professor, French and second languages. “As I went through the criteria for the UMake award, it matched all the things she does here at the university.”

U Make a Difference Award Recipients will be honoured at the Recognition Awards Reception, on May 11, along with 15 and 25 year pin recipients for long-service recognition.

Congratulations to the 2009 U Make Difference Award recipients:

Delores Atkinson (Faculty of Medicine)
Barbara Brydges (Faculty of Education)
Rick Calkins (Faculty of Fine Arts)
Suzanne Dauner (Schulich School of Engineering)
Robert Edwards (Faculty of Science)
Kristine Ennis (Faculty of Communication and Culture)
George Jergeas (Schulich School of Engineering)
Anne McKeough (Faculty of Education)
Karen Olson (Facilities Management)
Barb Romman (Research Services)
Heather Smith Watkins (Faculty of Fine Arts)
Linda Toth  (Faculty of Social Sciences)
Brian White (Human Resources)
Wee Yong (Faculty of Medicine)

To find out more about recognition at the U of C, visit:

Bookmark and Share