University of Calgary

U Make a Difference

UToday HomeJune 22, 2012

On June 19, senior University of Calgary administrators and hundreds of guests attended a formal recognition event put on by the Human Resources department. It was an occasion to pause, acknowledge and express appreciation for the workplace contributions of faculty and staff.

Twenty-two faculty and staff members were presented with U Make a Difference awards. These recipients were nominated by their colleagues and selected for demonstrating excellence in one or more categories—leadership, student experience, teamwork and positive work environment. They were given Inukshuks as a symbol of interdependence and the importance of strong relationships.

“These faculty and staff members were noted by their peers for going above and beyond in their interactions with others, and, in doing so, driving us toward our Eyes High goals, demonstrating outstanding leadership, and contributing in their own unique and important ways to a supportive and inclusive campus culture,” says President Elizabeth Cannon.

Congratulations to the 2012 U Make a Difference recipients:

  • Joanne Anderson, Medicine
  • Karen Benzies, Nursing
  • Kathleen Crowley, Haskayne
  • Janice Elliott, Medicine
  • Andrew Estefan, Nursing
  • Sue-Ann Facchini, Medicine
  • Nanako Furuyama, Women’s Resource Centre
  • Brad Johnson, UC-Qatar
  • Erin Kaipainen, Student and Enrolment Services
  • Jennifer Logan, Medicine
  • Jill MacBeath, Student and Enrolment Services
  • Peter Macklon, Medicine
  • Carissa Matthews, Science
  • Gregory Muench, Office of the Vice-President (Research)
  • Sylvia Parks, Education
  • Tony Russell, Science
  • Beverly Shevchenko, Science
  • Darrin Simmons, Human Resources
  • Jeannine Turnbull, Medicine
  • Amy Turner, Student and Enrolment Services
  • Lucille Wallace, Libraries and Cultural Resources
  • Preston Wiley, Kinesiology

During the evening, faculty and staff were also acknowledged and thanked for their years of service to the university. They were given Pins of Service for 15 or 25 years.

“These colleagues have demonstrated a tremendous commitment to this institution, their hard work has fuelled our many successes and the University of Calgary simply would not be where it is today were it not for their dedicated service,” says Cannon. “On behalf of us all―thank you!”

The list of silver (15 years) and gold (25 years) pin recipients is found online.