University of Calgary

Honorary degree recipients announced for 2013 May and June convocation

UToday HomeFebruary 28, 2013

University of Calgary Chancellor Jim Dinning speaks at a 2012 convocation ceremony. Dinning and President Elizabeth Cannon on Feb. 28 announced the 10 recipients of 2013 honorary degrees. Photo by Riley BrandtUniversity of Calgary Chancellor Jim Dinning speaks at a 2012 convocation ceremony. Dinning and President Elizabeth Cannon on Feb. 28 announced the 10 recipients of 2013 honorary degrees. Photo by Riley BrandtA message to the campus community from the Chancellor and the President.

We are pleased to announce to the campus community our honorary degree recipients for the 2013 May and June convocation ceremonies.

The honorary degree, the Doctor of Laws, is the University of Calgary’s highest academic honour bestowed on individuals whose notable achievements and community service merit recognition. These distinguished individuals will address our graduating classes in the morning (9:30 a.m.) or afternoon (2 p.m.) ceremonies.

Honourable Warren Winkler – May 9 afternoon for Law, Medicine, Veterinary Medicine and Graduate Studies

Chief Justice of Ontario, Warren Winkler is recognized for his outstanding contribution to the Canadian justice system, and his leadership in the establishment of the Indian residential school resolution process. He considers himself a “son of Pincher Creek, Alberta,” and he is a champion of environmental concerns and a great supporter of the arts.

Raymond Moriyama – June 10 morning for Environmental Design, Kinesiology, Social Work and Graduate Studies

Raymond Moriyama is one of Canada’s most respected architects who has created dramatic and influential designs ranging from the Canadian embassy in Tokyo to the Canadian War Museum in Ottawa. Born in Vancouver, he was interned during the Second World War because of his Japanese heritage.

Julie Payette – June 10 afternoon for the Schulich School of Engineering and Graduate Studies

A proud Canadian astronaut, Julie Payette is a veteran of two NASA missions into space. She was the first Canadian to visit the International Space Station. Dynamic and energetic, she has been a leader with the Own the Podium program and carried the Olympic flag in the opening ceremonies of the 2010 Olympic Winter Games.

Stuart McLean – June 11 morning for Arts and Graduate Studies

Journalist, professor, author and radio host, Stuart McLean is one of Canada’s great storytellers and three-time recipient of the Stephen Leacock Medal for Humour for his classic work, the Vinyl Café. Though acclaimed as a humorist, he has also received an ACTRA award for the best radio documentary about the Jonestown massacre.

Emőke Szathmáry – June 11 afternoon for Arts and Graduate Studies

Emőke Szathmáry is a nationally and internationally recognized anthropologist and specialist in genetically-based diseases of Canada’s northern populations. An exemplary scholar, she is a leader in Canadian academic administration, and a beloved role model and mentor.

Denise Clarke – June 12 morning for Arts and Graduate Studies

A proud Calgarian, Denise Clarke is an internationally-hailed artist in dance and theatre who has been an active member of One Yellow Rabbit Performance Theatre since its inception in the 1980s. She is a well-known choreographer, writer and teacher who has guided dozens of emerging theatre artists.

Clarence Guenter – June 12 afternoon for Education and Graduate Studies

Clinician, researcher, teacher and administrator extraordinaire, Clarence Guenter has received numerous recognitions and awards, including Physician of the Century – Alberta Centennial. He inspires others, including volunteer medical practitioners, through his dedication to global health development in countries such as Chile, Nepal, Russia, China, Korea, Philippines, Laos and Thailand.

Rudolph Marcus – June 13 morning for Science and Graduate Studies

One of the great chemists of the 20th and 21st centuries, Rudolph Marcus received the Nobel Prize in 1992 for his theory of electron transfer in chemical systems. The Marcus Theory has profoundly impacted research in chemistry, biology, physics and electrical engineering.

Marlene Smadu – June 13 afternoon for Medicine, Nursing, Science and Graduate Studies

Marlene Smadu is a champion of the nursing profession, nursing education and nursing research, locally and globally. She is celebrated for her leadership as president of the Canadian Nurses Association and with the International Council of Nurses.

Rick George – June 14 for the Haskayne School of Business and Graduate Studies

For over two decades, Rick George was the chief executive officer of Suncor Energy. Throughout his lifetime, he has been a proponent of life-long learning and has strived for excellence in philanthropy, as exemplified by the Suncor Energy Foundation and his volunteerism in building better communities.

Please join us in offering our congratulations and welcoming our honorary degree recipients to the University of Calgary family.

Jim Dinning
    Elizabeth Cannon


Follow UToday on Twitter.
Check the UToday website for news about events, people and trends at University of Calgary.
Follow what’s happening on campus using our interactive calendar.