Dec. 16, 2019

UCalgary publishes its Statement on Free Expression

A message from the Provost and Vice-President (Academic)
Winter on campus
Winter on campus Riley Brandt, University of Calgary

Earlier this year, the Government of Alberta asked all 26 post-secondary institutions to draft a policy on free expression that aligns with the basic tenets of the Chicago Principles. In response to this directive, UCalgary formed the Free Expression Committee to develop a statement on free expression for our university with the input of many stakeholders.

The Free Expression Committee undertook a campus-wide consultation process resulting in the submission of UCalgary’s Statement on Free Expression to the Government of Alberta in early November. We are happy to announce that our approved statement is now available online. I encourage you to visit our Freedom Of Expression web page to familiarize yourself with the statement and review the FAQs. The new statement became effective Dec. 13, 2019.

Free expression is a critical element of UCalgary’s mandate as a public comprehensive academic and research university. All members of the university have the right of free expression, which means the freedom to investigate, comment, listen, gather, challenge and critique subject to the law and, on our campuses, to university policies and procedures related to the functioning of the university.

The Statement on Free Expression applies to individuals and organizations on our campuses in Canada, including individuals and organizations external to the university. The use of university facilities for activities or events does not imply the university’s endorsement of any expressed views or positions.

I want to thank all the committee members for their dedication to this initiative.

The committee had the following representatives:

  • Karen Jackson (general counsel) and chair of the committee
  • Dru Marshall (provost and vice-president (academic))
  • Robert Thompson (AVP research)
  • Natasha Kenny (senior director, Taylor Institute for Teaching and Learning)
  • Philippe Reicher (AVP strategic communications)
  • Jessica Revington (Students’ Union president)
  • Marcela Lopes (vice-president external of the Graduate Students' Association).

Dr. Dru Marshall
Provost and Vice-President (Academic)