March 25, 2014

Inaugural teaching awards honour outstanding educators

From the Faculty of Nursing: Andrew Estefan (Full-Time Faculty) and Tracey Clancy and Rita Lisella (Team Teaching)
The recipients of the inaugural University of Calgary Teaching Awards, honoured for their contributions to student learning.

The recipients of the University of Calgary Teaching Awards, honoured for their contributions.

Jae Im

Eighteen educators were recognized for their contributions to teaching in a celebration for the inaugural University of Calgary Teaching Awards. President Elizabeth Cannon and Provost and Vice-President (Academic) Dru Marshall congratulated recipients and thanked them for their commitment to excellence in teaching.

The inaugural teaching awards attracted a strong response, with 49 nominations received from 11 different faculties. Awards were presented in 11 categories, recognizing faculty, graduate assistants, librarians and non-academic staff. The awards also paid tribute to innovations in experiential learning, curriculum development and educational leadership. 

“The University of Calgary Teaching Awards recognize colleagues who make exceptional contributions to our foundational commitment to enrich the quality and breadth of learning for all of our students,” said Dru Marshall, provost and vice president (academic). “The strong nominations we received spoke volumes about the quality of teaching and learning at the University of Calgary. I am delighted to join with our University community in celebrating the achievements of the 2014 recipients.”

See the full story in the March 25, 2014 edition of UToday