April 11, 2019

Graduate students and supporters recognized for excellence at GSA's annual Awards Gala

Arts students, supervisors, mentors, and volunteers honoured at event
GSA's annual Awards Gala
Asha Hollis, recipient of Graduate Student Sustainability Award Photo by Mohamed Abdelsamie, Graduate Student's Association

The Graduate Students’ Association (GSA) celebrated UCalgary graduate students and supporters at their annual Awards Gala April 4 at the Energy. Environment. Experiential Learning Building.

Elena Favaro, GSA vice-president academic and MC, shared the GSA’s gratitude: “Those of you in this room are recognized as leaders in your community; leaders that help make the graduate student experience for the entire graduate student population a more enriching, enjoyable, and successful endeavour.”

Dr. Robin Yates, interim dean and vice-provost of the Faculty of Graduate Studies, also delivered keynote remarks emphasizing the crucial contribution of UCalgary graduate students and graduate research to the strategic goals of the university.

During the gala, 14 award categories were presented by GSA executives, including the Vice-president external, Marcela Lopes, and vice-president student life, Mina Iskander, recognizing the excellence of our volunteers, graduate students, research associates, support staff, and administrators. These efforts have furthered the vision and mission of the GSA and enhanced the graduate student experience at the university during the past year.

The GSA extends our gratitude to the entire university community for another successful academic year, due in large part by those who took the time to nominate outstanding graduate students and community supporters, those who were nominated, and award recipients.

    From left: Elena Favaro; Marcela Lopes, VP external; Haley Vecchiarelli, recipient of GSA Leadership Award; and Mina Iskander, VP student life.

    Elena Favaro, Marcela Lopes, Haley Vecchiarelli, recipient of GSA Leadership Award; Mina Iskander.

    Mohamed Abdelsamie, Graduate Students' Association

    The following are the 2018 – 2019 award winners:

    GSA Champion Awards

    • Shane Royal, UCalgary’s director of ancillary services
    • Linda Dalgetty, UCalgary vice-president finance and services

    Lifetime Achievement Award

    • Alejandra Enriquez Garcia, Department of Chemistry

    Emerging Leader Award

    • Sicheng Lee, Department of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine

    Leadership Award

    • Haley Vecchiarelli, Department of Neuroscience

    Excellence in Administrative Support Award (Support Staff)

    • Leda Stawnychko, Department of Nursing

    Excellence in Research Award (Graduate Students)

    • Robert Mayall, Department of Chemistry

    Research Excellence Award (Senior Research Affiliates)

    • Thomas Barchyn, Department of Geography

    Excellence in Teaching Award (Graduate Student)

    • Jessalyn Holodinsky, Department of Community Health Sciences
    • Marissa Clapson, Department of Chemistry (Honourable Mention)
    Elena Favaro and Jessalyn Holodinsky, recipient of the GSA Teaching Excellence Award – Graduate Students.

    Elena Favaro and Jessalyn Holodinsky, recipient of the GSA Teaching Excellence Award.

    Mohamed Abdelsamie, Graduate Students' Association

    Excellence in Supervision Award

    • Dr. Ryan Burns, Department of Geography
    • Dr. Adam Kirton, Department of Paediatrics and Clinical Neuroscience
    • Dr. Jean Addington, Department of Psychiatry (Honourable Mention )
    • Dr. Kunal Karan, Department of Chemical and Petroleum Engineering (Honourable Mention)

    Volunteer Excellence Award

    • Jaclyn Carter, Department of English
    • Hormoz Izadi, Department of Geoscience
    • Suzanne Chew, Department of Geography
    • Basem Halawa, Department of Civil Engineering
    • Jen Sidorova, Department of Political Science

    Graduate Representative Council Distinguished Service Award

    • Shawn Brackett, Department of History

    Graduate Student Sustainability Award

    • Asha Hollis, Department of Neuroscience
    • Suzanne Chew, Department of Geography (Honourable Mention)
    • Ehsan Hosseini, Department of Chemical and Petroleum Engineering (Honourable Mention)

    Graduate Representative Council Initiative Awards

    • Rapid Initiative: Faizan Malik, Aaron Lanz, Govind Peringod, Brooke Belanger, Pauline de Jesus, Trevor Low, Douglas Kondro, Sascha Gill, Joel Glover, Sam Dorosz, and Thomas Lijnse
    • Zen Den: Catherine Greene, Rachel Kratofil, and Nancy Adam
    • Method’s Day: Charlene Watterston, Rasha Sabouny, and Sophie Briggs
    • Workshop Fridays:  Hiva Jalilzadeh, Lauretta Pearse, and Mohamadmahdi Ershad