University of Calgary
UofC Navigation

Steering Committee

The Calgary Distinguished Writers Program is governed by a steering committee composed of local writers, business people, creative writing professors, students, and university administrators. Steering committee members are chosen by the Dean of the Faculty of Arts on recommendation of the committee.

2019-2020 Steering Committee

  • Moorea Gray, Community Representative
  • Barb Howard, Writers' Guild of Alberta
  • Jacqueline Jenkins, Acting Chair, Calgary Distinguished Writers Program and Head, Department of English
  • Michal Lavi, Community Representative
  • Jennifer Myers, Director, Communications and Marketing, Faculty of Arts
  • Marjorie Rugunda, Graduate Student, Department of English
  • Sharanpal Ruprai, 2019-2020 Canadian Writer-in-Residence
  • Vivek Shraya, Assistant Professor, Department of English
  • Caitlyn Spencer, Coordinator, Calgary Distinguished Writers Program
  • Ben Whaley, Assistant Professor, School of Languages, Linguistics, Literatures and Culture