University of Calgary
UofC Navigation

Derek Walcott, 2007-2008 Distinguished Visiting Writer

Derek Walcott, 2007-2008 Distinguished Visiting Writer

Nobel Laureate in Literature Derek Walcott is one of the most accomplished literary writers of our times. Walcott graduated from the University of the West Indies, and in 1957 was awarded a fellowship by the Rockefeller Foundation to study American theatre. He is the founder of the Trinidad Theater Workshop, and his plays have been produced in countries all over the world. He was a recipient of a five-year fellowship from the MacArthur Foundation in 1981 and was awarded the Queen's Medal for Poetry in 1988. He is an Honorary Member of the American Academy and Institute of Arts and Letters. He won the Nobel Prize in Literature in 1992.

Walcott is the author of more than 20 volumes of poems and verse and more than 20 plays, including Omeros (1990), an epic poem which reimagines Homer in a Caribbean setting; Dream on Monkey Mountain (1970), winner of the 1971 Obie Award for distinguished foreign play; Another Life (1973), a book-length autobiographical poem; and The Odyssey: A Stage Version (1993), a retelling of the story of The Odyssey, set in St. Lucia. Walcott's Collected Poems: 1948-1984 won the 1986 Los Angeles Times Book Prize for Poetry.

Other published works include Homage to Robert Frost (1996), a collection of essays co-authored with Joseph Brodsky and Seamus Heaney, and What the Twilight Says (1999), his first collection of essays. The Antilles: Fragments of Epic Memory, Walcott's Nobel lecture, was published in 1992.

Walcott divides his time between his home in St. Lucia and New York.

Derek Walcott was in residence as the Distinguished Visiting Writer from September 25-28, 2007.

Derek Walcott's Bibliography
Nobel Prize Interview with Derek Walcott