University of Calgary
UofC Navigation

Distinguished Visiting Writer

Invitations for the Distinguished Visiting Writer are extended by the Steering Committee. The amount of the award varies depending upon the length of stay, which may be from a few days to several weeks. The Distinguished Visiting Writer contributes to the program in a variety of ways, including free public talks, readings, or participation in symposia or workshops.

Since its inception in 1993, the program has brought to Calgary two Nobel Laureates, Derek Walcott and Wole Soyinka, and such literary luminaries as Marlon James, Zadie Smith, Neil Gaiman, Margaret Atwood, Art Spiegelman, Oliver Sacks, Timothy Findley, Margaret MacMillan, Thomas King, Ursula K. Le Guin, Alberto Manguel, and Michael Ondaatje, among others.

The CDWP's 2018–19 Distinguished Visiting Writer will be announced in September 2018. The event will take place on November 20, 2018.