University of Calgary
UofC Navigation


Submitted by admin on Tue, 11/06/2012 - 7:49am

Thinking in Pictures | May 31

Calgary Distinguished Writers Program's 2016-2017 Canadian Writer-in-Residence Shane Book

Shane BookAs both a poet and a filmmaker, Shane Book is an artist with two distinctly different disciplines in his arsenal. But the University of Calgary’s current Canadian Writer-in-Residence with the long-running Calgary Distinguished Writers Program (CDWP) finds common ground between the two practices.

“I think there’s a lot of overlap between the two art forms,” says Book, cracking wise. “It’s just that poetry is a lot cheaper because you only need a pencil, rather than thousands upon thousands of dollars and actors.”

Book — a Griffin Poetry Prize nominee, among his many accomplishments in the world of literature and film — will be working on two new poetry collections as well as a feature length film script during his term. He will also be available for manuscript consultations on Monday and Wednesday afternoons. To request classroom visits and/or film screenings of his films, Dust, and Praise and Blame, please contact the CDWP Coordinator at or 403.220.8177 


Aug. 24, 2016
Canadian Writers-in-Residence Reunion Festival celebrates CDWP legacy
Three day literary festival reflects achievements and scope of resident writers over the past 23 years

About the Program

The Calgary Distinguished Writers Program strives to advance the careers of Canadian writers, invigorate the Calgary writing community, and enhance the activities of the Faculty of Arts and the Department of English. The Program achieves its objectives through two annual residency programs: one for an emerging Canadian writer, and one for a distinguished writer of international stature.

Since its inception in 1993, the Program has brought to Calgary two Nobel Laureates, Derek Walcott and Wole Soyinka, and such literary luminaries as Zadie Smith, Neil Gaiman, Oliver Sacks, Timothy Findley, Thomas King, Ursula K. Le Guin, Alberto Manguel, Margaret MacMillan, Michael Ondaatje, and Pulitzer Prize-winning author and illustrator Art Spiegelman, among others.