University of Calgary
UofC Navigation

Research and Teaching Award Program

Five Killam Research and Teaching Awards honour outstanding teaching, supervision, and research at the University of Calgary. All full-time continuing academic staff are eligible. No individual is eligible for the same award more than once. Awardees receive a cash prize and a commemorative certificate at the annual University of Calgary Killam Reception (October 3, 2016).

Awards are made in five categories:

McCaig-Killam Teaching Award Teaching is one of the central activities at a University. It is rewarded by departments, at the Faculty level and by a number of University wide awards. The McCaig-Killam Teaching Award is given to an individual for outstanding contributions to teaching and learning at the University.

Nomination Deadline: August 10, 2016

Killam Award in Undergraduate Mentorship has been established to recognize excellence in mentorship at the undergraduate level, which may include extensive involvement of undergraduates in research, supervision of undergraduate research projects, and pedagogical practices that promote the integration of teaching and research.

Nomination Deadline: August 10, 2016

Killam Graduate Supervision and Mentorship Award is presented to an individual who has a record of supervision and mentorship of Masters and/or PhD students at the University of Calgary. Each year, nominations will rotate between Supervisors who work in a lab-based setting (more typical of Medicine, Science, Engineering and some Social Sciences) and those who mentor students’ independent projects (more typical of Humanities, Fine Arts, some Social Sciences and Education). The rotation will work on a 2:1 basis meaning two years lab-based Supervisors, one year non-lab-based Supervisors. For 2016, the award will be for independent (non-lab based) supervisors.

Nomination Deadline: August 10, 2016

Killam Emerging Research Leader Award is presented to up to three individuals (one per tri-council) who have, at an early career stage equivalent to 10 years post-awarding of the PhD, made outstanding contributions to research at an area of research recognized by CIHR, NSERC, or SSHRC.

Nomination Deadline: August 10, 2016

Killam Research Excellence Award is presented to an individual who has made outstanding contributions to research. Each year, one of the tri-council eligible areas has been selected and will rotate on a 3 year schedule. The 2016 award will be for CIHR researchers.

Nomination Deadline: August 10, 2016


Direct any inquiries to the Research Services Office:

Tiago Lier, PhD
Specialist, Research Awards
Research Services Office
E-mail: | Phone: 403.210.7224